Wednesday, April 22, 2009

New York Dolls New Album Out Soon

Of all of the "influential" or "seminal" bands that have reunited in recent years, only one has really knocked my socks off hard enough to really make me pay attention...The New York Dolls. Their "reunion" album, 2006's One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This was dead solid, and the tour that followed was nothing less than a ball.

Now comes word that The Dolls have reunited with Todd Rundgren, producer of their influential 1973 debut, to record their fourth studio album, ’Cause I Sez So, on Atco Records. Recorded at Utopia Sound Studio in Kauai, Hawaii, the album features original Dolls David Johansen (vocals) and Sylvain Sylvain (guitar) plus Steve Conte (guitar), Brian Delaney (drums), and Sami Yaffa (bass). The 12-song track list features 11 original compositions, including the first single “'Cause I Sez So” and a new version of “Trash,” which was originally on their 1973 debut album. “It was amazing working with Todd again, and I think we were able to evoke the special sound of our first album and drag it by the hair into the present,” says Johansen.

From what I've heard on the advance tracks posted on the online listening party, the new album kicks out the jams in a big way. ’Cause I Sez So is out May 5.

Pre-order ’Cause I Sez So here.

NY Dolls Official site
Facebook page

To hold you over until the album comes out, check this video featuring the original version of "Trash", along with a montage of images from from "Born to Lose: the Last Rock and Roll Movie," by Lech Kowalski:

No comments: