Monday, February 26, 2007

Ian Hunter Signs To Yep Roc...New Album In May

Honestly...can Yep Roc get any cooler? Check this announcement from the label whose artist roster (Paul Weller, Sloan, Nick Lowe, Apples In Stereo, Bob Mould, Robyn Hitchcock, You Am I, Heavy Trash, Billy Bragg) sounds like a playlist from the best jukebox ever:

Ian Hunter, legendary Mott The Hoople frontman and renowned solo artist signs to Yep Roc

Legendary Mott the Hoople frontman and renowned solo artist Ian Hunter has signed with Yep Roc Records. Shrunken Heads, due out May 15th, is Mr. Hunter's first studio recording since 2001's highly acclaimed full length, Rant.

With Mott the Hoople, Ian Hunter quickly established himself as an incredibly inventive songwriter with his gritty and thought provoking songs which paved the way for the original wave of punk rock. The 1972 David Bowie produced breakthrough album All The Young Dudes catapulted the band into the British Top 10 and the American Top 40. Additionally, the band was the first act to ever sell out a week of Broadway concerts in New York City. Ian Hunter's autobiography, Diary Of A Rock and Roll Star, written during the band's 1972 US Tour and published in 1974, was also acclaimed by Q Magazine as "the greatest music book ever written."

As a solo artist, Mr. Hunter has been responsible for instantly recognizable classics as "Once Bitten, Twice Shy," "Cleveland Rocks" (which went on to be the theme song for ABC's hit series The Drew Carey Show), and many, many more. Both Ian Hunter and Mott the Hoople have been cited as major inspirations for numerous artists including The Clash, Kiss, R.E.M., Oasis, Motley Crue, Blur, and Primal Scream among others. Hunter's influence on modern rock and roll music has been immeasurable, with over 150 different cover versions of his songs.

Shrunken Heads is Ian Hunter's 12th solo studio album since his eponymous debut in 1975. Recorded in 2006 in Pawling, NY, the 11-song Shrunken Heads covers a wide-range of honest emotions and wry observations that we've come to expect from Mr. Hunter: touching on such topics as late-night soul-searching to the devastation of Hurricane Katrina and today's political climate. Produced by Andy York (veteran guitarist for John Mellencamp) and himself, Hunter stated "The record was done quickly and very much as a band effort. It's more relaxed than usual for some reason and all in all a most enjoyable experience.

"The recording also features Wilco's Jeff Tweedy performing backing vocals on three tracks, "Words (Big Mouth)," "Fuss About Nothing," and "Guiding Light." E-Street Band Violinist Soozie Tyrell also appears on "Words (Big Mouth)," and "Brainwashed." The backing band is additionally comprised of superstar talent with Steve Holly on drums (Wings, Joe Cocker), Graham Maby on bass (Joe Jackson, Natalie Merchant, Joan Baez), Jack Petruzzelli on guitar (Rufus Wainwright, Joan Osbourne), James Mastro on guitar (Bongos, John Cale), Andy Burton on keyboards (The dB's, Tommy James) and Producer Andy York on guitar and keyboards.

Ian Hunter has worked with many musical legends such as the members of Queen, David Bowie, Mick Jones of The Clash, Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band, Mick Ronson and Ringo Starr's All Star Band. He was most recently seen at the 2006 benefit for Love's Arthur Lee at New York's Beacon Theatre, performing alongside Led Zeppelin's Robert Plant. In 2006, Columbia released the highly acclaimed 3-CD set Journey: A Retrospective of Mott the Hoople and Ian Hunter.

Mott The Hoople - "All The Young Dudes" mp3 buy

No comments: